Walter Rhett

Children Want To Be A Hero

In Perlo on April 23, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Parent Rap

We learned the hard way, our heart-shaped pond held children’s attentions – and real danger.

By Jackie Saulmon Ramirez | March 5, 2014

Joey, Daniel and I played games, explored the old house and were tempted by the heart-shaped goldfish pond.

My father built a rock-lined, heart-shaped goldfish pond for my mother in the back yard. The pond measured five feet at its widest point and was all of four feet deep. That pond and I are the same age and it was home for goldfish until I was about twenty. Over the years new people moved there and were afraid their children might drown so they filled it in and made a beautiful flower bed where fish once lived. The concern over drowning was valid.

In the winter of 1962 I was eight years old and hardly bigger than a minute. I loved when company came because it meant…

View original post 1,333 more words

Leave a Reply

